Last updated: September 15, 2026

Zoho Social alternatives divide by the reason a buyer leaves. Six triggers move most buyers: the one-brand ceiling, approvals and team roles across more than one brand, client access priced at the top tier, simple and cheap scheduling outside the Zoho suite, deeper analytics and ads, and full social listening. RecurPost fits multi-brand rosters and approval-driven teams, while Metricool, Planable, Sendible, Buffer, Sprout Social, and Hootsuite fit other workflows.

The gap that’s moving youClosest fitStarting price
One brand stopped being enoughRecurPost or Metricool$9/mo starting, $79/mo Agency for client workspaces / $25/mo
Approvals and team roles across more than one brandRecurPost$79/mo (Agency)
Client access locked behind the $320 Agency planRecurPost or Sendible$79/mo (Agency) / $99/mo
You want simple and cheap outside the Zoho suiteBufferFree (3 channels)
Analytics and ads management on a budgetMetricoolFree (1 brand)
Full social listening beyond MonitorSprout Social or Agorapulse$199/seat/mo

Every tool in that table loses somewhere. The groups below show where.

Zoho Social alternatives are social media management platforms that replace some combination of Zoho’s publishing, approval, client-access, and listening workflows. No replacement here matches Zoho Social’s Zoho-suite integration or its WhatsApp and Telegram coverage, so the answer depends on which trigger is pushing you out.

Zoho Social Alternatives and Competitors at a Glance

Nine Zoho Social alternatives and competitors cover the six switching triggers on this page: RecurPost, Metricool, Planable, Sendible, HeyOrca, Buffer, Sprout Social, Agorapulse, and Hootsuite. Each one is the closest fit for at least one of those triggers.

#ToolClosest fit forStarting price
1RecurPostMulti-brand rosters that need team roles on every plan, with client workspaces and the approval workflow on Agency$9/mo (2 social accounts); Agency $79/mo for 20 social accounts and 3 users
2MetricoolAnalytics-led rosters that need a low multi-brand priceFree (1 brand); $25/mo for 5 brands, $45 for 10
3PlanableUnlimited reviewers on a small posting volume$39/workspace/mo (Basic, optional approvals)
4SendiblePassword-free client onboarding through Client Connect$29/mo; Client Connect from $99/mo
5HeyOrcaReview-heavy client rosters with zero X accountsFree tier; $50 to $126 per workspace/mo
6BufferSimple and cheap outside the Zoho suite, under 10 channelsFree for 3 channels; $6/channel/mo after
7Sprout SocialFull social listening with a published per-seat number$99/seat/mo (Essentials)
8AgorapulseListening and inbox depth at a friendlier per-seat price$99/user/mo ($79 annual)
9HootsuiteEnterprise listening in its higher tiers$99/user/mo (annual, 10 accounts)

Sources: pricing pages for RecurPost, Metricool, Planable, Sendible, HeyOrca, Buffer, Sprout Social, Agorapulse, and Hootsuite. Competitor figures verified July 16, 2026. RecurPost verified September 15, 2026.

Why Buyers Leave Zoho Social

Zoho Social serves the wider Zoho ecosystem first and multi-brand marketers second. Five gaps drive most departures, and we verified each one against Zoho’s live pricing page on July 16, 2026.

  1. Zoho Social allows one account per platform inside a brand. A second Facebook Page or a second Instagram account needs a second brand. Extra brands cost $17 per month as add-ons on Professional (capped at 5) and $23 per month on Premium, so a franchise or a multi-location business pays the brand tax before adding a single teammate.
  2. Zoho Social’s plan ladder has a cliff. Premium costs $65 per month for one brand and 3 team members. Agency, the next tier up, costs $320 per month for 10 brands and 5 team members. A studio with 3 or 4 clients either stacks add-ons onto a plan built for one brand or pays for 10.
  3. Zoho Social holds content approvals until the $65 Premium plan, and custom team roles sit behind the same gate. A Standard or Professional user reviews client posts over email and screenshots.
  4. Zoho Social reserves client access for its Agency plans. Client invites and free client logins start at $320 per month, and agency-branded reports sit on the same tier. A freelancer with two clients cannot give either of them a login at any lower price.
  5. Zoho Social pays off most inside the wider Zoho suite. The CRM lead capture and the Desk ticket features assume you run Zoho CRM and Zoho Desk. Zia, the built-in AI assistant, runs on monthly credit allowances rather than unlimited use.

A three-person studio managing four client brands hits all of this at once. Premium covers one brand. Three brand add-ons at $23 each lift the bill to $134 per month with approvals but still no client logins. The Agency plan solves client access at $320 and sells the studio six brands it does not need.

A single-brand business already running Zoho CRM has not outgrown Zoho Social. Zoho Standard costs $15 per month on monthly billing ($10 on annual) for one brand with up to 12 channels, which is among the cheapest single-brand prices in this category. The staying-on-Zoho section below covers that case.

What a Zoho Social Replacement Has to Cover

Zoho Social prices in brands, and that unit hides the real comparison. One Zoho brand bundles up to 12 channels on Standard and Professional or 14 on Premium and the Agency tiers, and never two accounts on the same platform. Most alternatives price per social account, per channel, per workspace, or per user seat instead. Count your roster two ways before comparing anything: total social accounts, and the largest number of accounts you need on any single platform.

Then run five checks against that roster:

  1. Count accounts per platform for every client. Zoho Social allows one per platform per brand, so three Facebook Pages meant three brands. Confirm the replacement has no equivalent ceiling.
  2. Find the plan tier where approvals start, then find the tier where role-based access starts. Zoho Social starts both together on Premium at $65 per month. RecurPost splits them, with the internal and external approval workflow on Agency at $79 per month and team roles, permissions, and the Kanban board on every plan from $9 per month. Tools divide those two tiers differently, so check them separately.
  3. Confirm platform coverage in both directions. Zoho Social publishes to Mastodon and Telegram and runs a WhatsApp inbox from Premium up. Almost no alternative on this page covers those three.
  4. Price the loaded cost, meaning the base plan plus every add-on your roster forces. Vista Social’s $79 plan becomes $108 once X publishing joins, and Metricool sells X separately too.
  5. Map the export path before canceling. Zoho Social exports published posts in bulk as CSV, so the archive leaves with you if you pull it first.

The coverage table below settles the first two checks for the tools this page names most often.

ToolPricing unitApprovals start atSecond account on the same platform
Zoho SocialPer brandPremium, $65/moNeeds a second brand ($17 to $23/mo)
RecurPostPer social accountAgency, $79/mo (roles, permissions, and Kanban board on every plan from $9)Add an account, $4/mo past plan limits
BufferPer channelTeam, $12/channel/moAdd a channel at the same rate
MetricoolPer brandAdvanced, $67/moStarter includes 5 brands at $25/mo, 10 at $45
PlanablePer workspaceBasic (optional), $39/moCounts toward the 4-page workspace cap

Sources: Zoho Social, RecurPost, Buffer, Metricool, and Planable pricing pages. Competitor cells verified July 16, 2026. RecurPost cell verified September 15, 2026.

RecurPost’s directory of social media scheduling alternatives runs these same checks across 40+ tools. The six groups below run them for the Zoho Social case only.

Zoho Social Alternatives by Switching Trigger

One Brand Stopped Being Enough

Closest fitRecurPost, or Metricool for analytics-led rosters
RecurPost fits whenThe roster needs review and client workspaces alongside the account count
RecurPost does not fit whenThe team runs one brand and wants the cheapest single-brand bill
Metricool fits when10 brands at $45 covers the roster and approvals can wait
Reconsider Zoho Social whenYour team is deep in Zoho CRM, because no tool on this page feeds leads there

RecurPost prices per social account, so a second Facebook Page is a $4 line item rather than a $23 brand. RecurPost’s Agency plan holds a four-client roster of 16 social accounts for $79 per month, and gives each client a separate workspace with its own content library and approval workflow. Metricool’s Starter covers 5 brands at $25 per month, or 10 brands at $45, with unlimited publishing, and one Metricool brand holds one client’s whole account set. Sendible starts at $29 and scales through account-capped plans rather than brand counts. Buffer prices per channel, which stays cheap under roughly 10 channels and inflates past that.

A team deep in Zoho CRM should price Zoho’s own Agency plan before leaving, because no tool on this page feeds leads into Zoho CRM natively.

RecurPost does not fit this group when the account count is the only problem and the cheapest multi-brand bill decides it. Metricool’s $45 for 10 brands is where that roster lands instead.

You Need Approvals and Team Roles Across More Than One Brand

Closest fitRecurPost for staged approvals with deadlines and per-client roles, or Planable at small posting volume
RecurPost fits whenThe review chain has defined stages, a missed deadline must not stall the calendar, each person needs different access per client, and the roster spans more than one brand
RecurPost does not fit whenA single-brand team of three already has approvals and custom roles on Zoho Premium at $65 and needs the WhatsApp or Telegram inbox
Planable fits whenUnlimited reviewers matter more than posting volume, at 60 posts per month across 4 social pages

Zoho Social starts content approvals and custom roles together on Premium at $65 per month for one brand and 3 team members. RecurPost puts its internal and external approval workflow on the Agency plan at $79 per month, which is $14 more and covers 20 social accounts, a separate workspace per client, and 3 team members. RecurPost includes team roles, permissions, and the Kanban board on every plan, starting with the $9 Starter plan. The trigger for this group is roster width and role depth rather than a lower approval price.

Approval capabilityZoho SocialRecurPostPlanable
Approval stagesWorkflow and Approvals, a content approval system for publishing postsCustom work, internal review, and client review stages, set account-wide by the ownerMulti-level approvals
Board viewNot stated in our sourcesKanban board of workflow stages, every planKanban approvals tab
Role model and scopeCustom roles and permissions created and assigned for team members inside a Brand4 templates plus custom roles, assigned per workspace, every planNot stated in our sources
Client sign-offClient invite and free client logins on Agency at $320/moClient approves or requests changes on the shareable calendar without logging inBuilt for client and stakeholder review
When a stage deadline passesNot stated in our sourcesHolds, auto-approves, escalates, or reschedules the postNot stated in our sources
Tier where approvals startPremium, $65/moAgency, $79/moBasic (optional), $39/workspace/mo; Pro at $59 makes approvals required

Sources: Zoho Social pricing page and Planable for capability wording, verified September 15, 2026. Zoho Social and Planable prices from the live pricing pages, verified July 16, 2026. RecurPost verified September 15, 2026.

RecurPost acts on a missed stage deadline on its own, and the rules below spell out how. Our sources for the other tools on this page do not document that behavior either way.

RecurPost runs approvals as a staged workflow on a Kanban board. The account owner sets the stages once for the whole account, because an agency does not change how it works from one client to the next. Each RecurPost post then moves across the board as a card with an assignee, labels, and a media preview, and the Ideas and Scheduled columns bookend the board. RecurPost’s default workflow chains four steps:

  1. A writer drafts the post in the Writing stage.
  2. A manager reviews the post in the Manager Review stage within 48 hours, or RecurPost escalates it.
  3. The client approves the post in the Client Review stage within 72 hours, or RecurPost moves the post one day later.
  4. A client who requests changes sends the post back to Writing with their comments.

RecurPost lets the owner rename, add, and remove stages, and every stage is a work, internal review, or client review stage. RecurPost sets each stage’s timeout at 4, 8, 24, 48, or 72 hours, or at 7 days. RecurPost warns the assigned role at 50 percent and 80 percent of that timeout and again when the stage is overdue. The owner also picks what RecurPost does once a timeout runs out:

  1. RecurPost holds the post in its stage until someone acts.
  2. RecurPost approves the post automatically and moves it on.
  3. RecurPost escalates the post to the next approver.
  4. RecurPost reschedules the post, so a late client review never publishes on the wrong day.

RecurPost controls who acts at each stage through roles. RecurPost starts every account with four role templates:

RecurPost roleWhat the role can do
ContributorWrites their own drafts and sends them for review, with no access to other people’s posts or approvals
WriterWrites and edits posts, manages the content library, and replies in the inbox
EditorApproves posts at internal review stages, edits anyone’s work, and manages the inbox
PublisherPublishes and schedules, handles client approvals, exports reports, and manages the team

RecurPost also lets the owner edit a template or build a custom role by ticking individual permissions. RecurPost’s permission sections cover posts, approvals and publishing, social profiles, the content library, the inbox, reports, DM automations, paid ads, client review, and workspace and team settings. Turning off a section such as Paid ads hides that page from the member’s sidebar. A member who tries a blocked action sees the exact permission to ask the workspace owner for.

RecurPost assigns roles per workspace, so one person holds different roles for different clients. A freelancer can be a Writer for one client, an Editor for a second, and have no access to a third. RecurPost also names an Account Manager for each workspace. RecurPost’s Account Manager is a guaranteed second approver and can approve on the client’s behalf, and RecurPost logs every approve-on-behalf.

RecurPost sends each role only the alerts for stages that role works in, by email and in the mobile app:

  • RecurPost alerts a member when a post is assigned to them.
  • RecurPost alerts approvers when posts are waiting for their review.
  • RecurPost alerts the writer when a post is approved or sent back with changes.
  • RecurPost alerts the assigned role as a stage nears or misses its timeout.
  • RecurPost alerts the team when a client approves, rejects, or receives an urgent approval request.

The three-person studio with four client brands maps onto this directly. One freelancer holds the Writer role in two workspaces only. The account manager clears Manager Review inside 48 hours from the board. Each client approves on the shareable calendar without a login, and a client who goes quiet past 72 hours has the post rescheduled by a day instead of published unapproved. RecurPost pricing lists which plan carries the approval workflow, the client workspaces, and the white-label reports that studio also needs.

Planable built its product around review. Planable Basic costs $39 per workspace per month with unlimited users and optional approvals, and Pro at $59 adds required approvals plus a grid view. Planable runs multi-level approvals and shows them in a Kanban approvals tab. Planable’s caps bite though: Basic allows 60 posts per workspace per month across 4 social pages, and analytics costs a $14 per workspace add-on. HeyOrca structures each client workspace around review rounds, from a free tier up to $126 per workspace, and HeyOrca publishes nothing to X. Buffer holds approvals until its Team plan at $12 per channel per month. Metricool ships five preset roles plus custom roles, and Metricool’s Client role approves or rejects posts. RecurPost prices against those four at $79 per month for the approval workflow, with team roles assigned per workspace from $9 per month.

Sources: Metricool team access documentation and Planable, verified September 15, 2026. Planable, HeyOrca, and Buffer prices verified July 16, 2026.

You Need Client Access Without the $320 Agency Plan

Closest fitRecurPost or Sendible
RecurPost or Sendible fits whenClients must connect their own accounts through a password-free invite
Neither fits whenThe client relationship rests on a portal customized to your own domain
HeyOrca fits whenReview-heavy client rosters carry zero X accounts
Also worth pricingVista Social, when its listening add-on is on the shopping list too

RecurPost onboards clients without passwords on the Agency plan at $79 per month. The client receives an email or link invite, connects their own accounts, and never shares credentials. Each client then works inside their own workspace and approves posts or requests changes on the shareable calendar with one button and no login. Zoho Social keeps client access on its $320 Agency tier, and Zoho’s feature list there adds portal customization, a custom view for clients, and agency-branded reports. That branded portal has no RecurPost equivalent, so an agency whose client relationship rests on its own domain stays with Zoho Social.

Sendible matches the password-free onboarding with Client Connect, which lets clients connect accounts from the agency’s own website without password sharing. Sendible starts at $29 per month, Client Connect starts on the $99 Plus plan, and Sendible’s per-plan value thins toward 20 or more accounts. HeyOrca prices per client workspace and gives clients a native review seat, which client-services teams like, and HeyOrca publishes nothing to X. Vista Social covers approvals and client onboarding inside a broader feature set at $79 for 15 accounts, with X publishing as a $29 per month add-on, and Vista Social’s clients can also approve without logging in.

A freelancer with two clients pays $79 on RecurPost’s Agency plan and gives both clients a password-free invite and an approval button. The same client access costs $320 per month on Zoho Social.

Sources: Zoho Social pricing page for the Agency client features and Vista Social multi-step approval documentation, verified September 15, 2026. Zoho Social, Sendible, HeyOrca, and Vista Social prices verified July 16, 2026.

You Want Simple and Cheap Outside the Zoho Suite

Closest fitBuffer
Buffer fits whenThe roster stays under roughly 10 channels with no client approvals in sight
Buffer does not fit whenThe per-channel bill or a silent post failure starts costing more than the savings
Also worth pricingPubler, for bulk tools at a low per-account price

Buffer fits a solo operator, and its per-channel pricing works against an agency roster. Buffer’s free plan covers 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel. Buffer Essentials costs $6 per channel per month on monthly billing ($5 annual) with unlimited scheduling. Buffer publishes to X, Google Business Profile (posts only), Threads, Bluesky, and Mastodon. Buffer’s interface stays simpler than Zoho Social’s busy dashboard, and Buffer publishes to Mastodon, which Zoho Social also covers.

Buffer’s simplicity has hard edges. Buffer requires account credentials at connection with no client invite. Buffer surfaces no error when a post fails, so the post just does not go out and you find out manually. Buffer holds approvals on its Team plan at $12 per channel per month, and Buffer pushes the same content to every profile of a platform with no per-profile customization in one pass.

Publer plays the same budget role at roughly $5 to $10 per account per month with bulk tools included. RecurPost Starter covers 2 social accounts for $9 per month with team roles, permissions, and the Kanban board included. RecurPost also handles 850+ documented platform error types, so a failed post surfaces with a reason instead of disappearing quietly.

A solo operator running 8 channels with no client review pays $48 per month on Buffer Essentials and gets the simpler dashboard. Past roughly 10 channels, or once a client asks to review posts first, that operator belongs in the first two groups above.

You Want Deeper Analytics or Ads Management

Closest fitMetricool
Metricool fits whenAds management and cross-platform comparison views matter, not just reporting
RecurPost fits whenWhite-label client reporting across 10 platforms is the requirement
RecurPost does not fit whenBuilding ad campaigns from scratch, running Google, LinkedIn, or TikTok ads, or competitor benchmarking drives the decision

Metricool pairs reporting with ads management on a small budget. Metricool’s free plan covers 1 brand with up to 20 posts per month, without X or LinkedIn. Metricool’s Starter covers 5 brands at $25 per month, or 10 brands at $45, with unlimited publishing. Metricool includes Google Business Profile on every tier and manages ad campaigns inside the same dashboard. Zoho Social’s reporting covers white-label reports with scheduled or emailed delivery, and Zoho Social manages no ad campaigns and offers no cross-platform comparison view.

RecurPost covers the reporting half of this trigger. RecurPost’s Custom Reports builder assembles 200+ metrics across 10 platforms with drag-and-drop editing, 58 templates, and 11 chart types. RecurPost’s reports carry audience demographics: Instagram and Facebook age, gender, and location, plus LinkedIn industry, seniority, and function. RecurPost also pulls in Meta ads reporting metrics and Google Business reviews, exports a white-label PDF that downloads or emails to up to 25 recipients, and answers questions about a report through Chat with Reports AI. RecurPost boosts published Facebook and Instagram posts into ads, with budget, audience, and duration set inside RecurPost and billing through the connected Meta ad account. RecurPost does not build ads from scratch, does not run Google, LinkedIn, or TikTok ads, and offers no competitor benchmarking.

An agency that sends four white-label client PDFs every month and needs LinkedIn seniority breakdowns inside them fits RecurPost. An agency that buys media for those same clients fits Metricool, because RecurPost boosts published Facebook and Instagram posts rather than building or running full ad campaigns.

You Need Full Social Listening Beyond Monitor

Closest fitSprout Social or Hootsuite, Agorapulse for less
Sprout Social or Hootsuite fits whenEnterprise listening budgets are available
Agorapulse fits whenThe same need can be covered for less, with lighter data
RecurPost does not fitRecurPost has no social listening or sentiment analysis at any price

Zoho Social’s Monitor dashboard tracks mentions, reviews, and keyword streams network by network, which covers brand hygiene and stops short of full listening with sentiment. Sprout Social’s Standard plan runs $199 per seat per month with listening sold as an add-on from Standard upward. Hootsuite runs $99 to $399 per user per month on annual billing with listening in its higher tiers. Agorapulse covers listening at a lower per-user price with strong inbox tooling. Vista Social sells listening as a $75 per month add-on on its $79 base plan.

RecurPost does not compete in this group. RecurPost has no social listening and no sentiment analysis. An agency that sells monthly listening reports as a line item should price the four tools above.

Where RecurPost Falls Short

RecurPost’s gaps deserve the same bluntness as Zoho Social’s.

  • RecurPost has no social listening and no sentiment analysis. Zoho Social’s Monitor streams have no RecurPost equivalent.
  • RecurPost has no WhatsApp inbox and no Telegram publishing, and Mastodon is missing too. Zoho Social covers all three from Premium up.
  • RecurPost includes 3 team members on the Agency plan and charges $20 per month for each member past that. Zoho Premium includes 3 team members and Zoho Agency includes 5.
  • RecurPost has no branded client portal customized to your own domain. Zoho Social lists portal customization on its Agency tier.
  • RecurPost has no Zoho CRM or Zoho Desk integration, so social leads and support tickets never flow into that suite.
  • RecurPost’s interface is utilitarian. RecurPost handles large client rosters, and it does not look polished doing it.
  • RecurPost offers no competitor benchmarking, so an agency that sells benchmarking fits Metricool better.
  • RecurPost does not publish to Snapchat and has no link-in-bio product.
  • RecurPost publishes X posts over 280 characters only when the client has their own X Premium subscription.

Agencies that switched anyway did it for workflow coverage and the pricing unit. The RecurPost case studies show which rosters made that trade and why.

The Pricing Math, Both Ways

Want the numbers for your own roster? The social media tool pricing calculator prices 36 schedulers, including Zoho Social, for your profiles, seats, clients and must-have features, with the arithmetic shown.

Zoho Social is cheap at one brand and expensive at four. The table shows both ends.

ToolBase plan (monthly billing)What’s includedWhat changes the real cost
Zoho Social Premium$651 brand (14 channels), 3 team membersExtra brand $23/mo; client logins need Agency at $320
Zoho Social Agency$32010 brands, 5 team membersClient portal and agency-branded reports included; annual billing drops it to $230/mo
RecurPost Agency$7920 social accounts, 3 team membersExtra account $4/mo; extra team member $20/mo; X, Google Business Profile, the approval workflow, client workspaces, team roles, and the Kanban board included
Metricool Starter$255 brands (10 at $45), unlimited publishingX publishing costs extra as an add-on; approvals need Advanced at $67
Buffer Essentials$6 per channelPer channel, unlimited postsApprovals need Team at $12/channel; 16 channels with approvals cost $192/mo
Planable Basic$39 per workspace60 posts/mo, 4 pages, unlimited usersAnalytics $14/workspace/mo; required approvals need Pro at $59
SendibleFrom $29Account-capped plansClient Connect from the $99 Plus plan; value thins past 20 accounts

Sources: Zoho Social, RecurPost, Metricool, Buffer, Planable, and Sendible. Competitor figures verified July 16, 2026. RecurPost verified September 15, 2026.

Annual billing lowers most of these numbers. Zoho’s annual discount runs up to 33 percent, and RecurPost’s yearly billing gives two months free. RecurPost bills per social account rather than per user seat, which is what makes the four rosters below land so differently.

A single-brand business stays cheaper on Zoho Social. Zoho Standard costs $15 per month for one brand covering up to 12 channels. The same six or seven accounts on RecurPost need Personal at $25 plus one or two $4 add-on accounts, which totals $29 to $33. Zoho Social costs roughly $14 a month less there, and its $10 annual price widens the gap.

A three-person team on one brand also stays cheaper on Zoho Social. Zoho Premium at $65 includes 3 team members, approvals, custom roles, and a WhatsApp inbox. RecurPost’s Agency plan at $79 matches the 3 seats and the approvals, adds 20 social accounts the team does not need, and never matches the WhatsApp inbox. Staying on Zoho Social is the rational call for that team.

A four-client studio flips the math. Zoho Social wants $134 per month for Premium plus three $23 brand add-ons with no client logins, or $320 for the Agency plan. RecurPost covers the same 16 social accounts at $79 flat, with password-free client onboarding and the approval workflow in every client workspace. The studio saves $55 to $241 a month by switching. Metricool serves the same studio for $25 if approvals can wait until its $67 Advanced tier.

A ten-client agency with 5 seats and roughly 40 social accounts pays Zoho Social $320 on the Agency plan. RecurPost prices that roster at $199: Agency at $79, twenty extra accounts at $80, and two extra team members at $40. RecurPost saves $121 a month, and Zoho Social answers back with the client portal, agency-branded reports, and the WhatsApp inbox. An agency whose clients live in WhatsApp should read the next section before switching anywhere.

When Staying on Zoho Social Is the Right Call

Zoho Social keeps four things that no tool on this page fully replaces:

  1. Zoho Social runs a WhatsApp Business and Telegram inbox from Premium up.
  2. Zoho Social publishes to Mastodon, which only Buffer matches here.
  3. Zoho Social feeds social leads into Zoho CRM and tickets into Zoho Desk natively.
  4. Zoho Social’s $15 Standard plan, with a free plan below it, stays one of the cheapest single-brand offers in the category.

Zoho Social also creates and assigns custom roles and permissions for team members inside a Brand. That scope suits a team that thinks in brands rather than in client workspaces. Roles are common in this category now, since RecurPost, Metricool, Publer, and Planable all ship them, so the role model is a question of scope rather than of presence.

A single-brand business inside the Zoho suite should stay. A team whose client communication runs on WhatsApp should stay or shortlist enterprise suites, because RecurPost has no WhatsApp capability at all. Switching either buyer would trade working infrastructure for scheduling features they may never touch.

Sources: Zoho Social pricing page for the custom-roles scope, Metricool, Publer, and Planable, verified September 15, 2026. Zoho Social plan prices verified July 16, 2026.

Where RecurPost Fits, and Where It Does Not

RecurPost fits the roster that broke Zoho Social’s brand pricing. The three-person studio from the top of this page lands on RecurPost because its four client brands become four client workspaces on one $79 Agency plan. Each client connects through a password-free email or link invite. Posts move from writer to account manager to client on the Kanban board, roles are set per workspace so a freelancer sees only their own clients, and a client who misses the 72-hour review window has the post rescheduled rather than published unapproved. RecurPost’s error handling covers 850+ documented platform failure types, so a failed post surfaces with a reason instead of disappearing. Per-account pricing means the studio’s fifth client adds $16 for four accounts, not a $23 brand and not a $320 plan.

RecurPost does not fit listening-driven agencies, WhatsApp-dependent client rosters, or businesses wired into Zoho CRM. RecurPost also does not fit a team that needs a branded client portal on its own domain, or a team past six members that would rather not pay $20 per member. Those buyers have better answers in the groups above or in Zoho Social itself.

The RecurPost vs Zoho Social comparison walks both tools feature by feature when Zoho Social is your only other candidate.

Moving Off Zoho Social

Zoho Social exports published posts in bulk as CSV with filters, so pull the archive before canceling. Media in Zoho’s library needs downloading separately. RecurPost shortens the rebuild by importing the last 6 months of posted content from each connected social account, which recreates a working content library without CSV formatting.

Then set RecurPost up in this order:

  1. The account owner rebuilds the Zoho approval chain once as RecurPost workflow stages, because RecurPost stages are account-wide rather than per client.
  2. The owner assigns each person a role in each workspace they cover, then names an Account Manager for every client.
  3. The owner invites the team and each client, and every client connects their own accounts through an invite link.

A studio rebuilding a writer to manager to client chain does step 1 once on day one, then repeats steps 2 and 3 for each of its four client workspaces.

Zoho Social Alternatives FAQs

Which Zoho Social Alternative Fits Which Switching Trigger?

The closest alternative to Zoho Social depends on which Zoho Social ceiling pushed you out. RecurPost fits a multi-brand roster that needs staged approvals, roles set per client, and client sign-off, at $79 per month for 20 social accounts. Metricool fits an analytics-led roster at $45 per month for 10 brands when approvals can wait for its $67 Advanced tier. Planable fits a small posting volume that needs unlimited reviewers. Sendible fits agencies whose clients connect their own accounts from the agency’s website. Sprout Social, Hootsuite, and Agorapulse fit teams with a listening budget. Zoho Social itself stays the right call for a single-brand business inside the Zoho suite, or for a team whose clients live in WhatsApp.

What Does Zoho Social’s Agency Plan Cost?

Zoho Social’s Agency plan costs $320 per month on monthly billing or $230 per month billed annually, for 10 brands and 5 team members. Agency Plus covers 20 brands at $460 monthly or $330 annual. Both figures come from Zoho’s pricing page as of July 16, 2026.

Can Zoho Social Manage Two Facebook Pages on One Plan?

One Zoho Social brand connects one account per platform, so a second Facebook Page requires a second brand. Extra brands cost $17 per month on Professional (maximum 5) and $23 per month on Premium. RecurPost, Buffer, and Publer price per social account or channel instead, so a second Page is one more unit at $4 to $10 per month.

Which Zoho Social Alternatives Include Approvals on Their Cheapest Plan?

Planable’s $39 Basic plan ships optional approvals with unlimited users. RecurPost includes its internal and external approval workflow on the Agency plan at $79 per month, and includes team roles, permissions, and the Kanban board on every plan from $9 per month. Buffer holds approvals until Team at $12 per channel per month, Metricool until Advanced at $67, and Zoho Social itself until Premium at $65.

Does RecurPost Have Team Roles and Permissions Like Zoho Social’s Custom Roles?

Both tools assign custom roles. RecurPost ships four role templates, from Contributor up to Publisher, plus custom roles built from individual permissions, on every plan from $9 per month. RecurPost assigns each role per workspace, so one person holds different roles for different clients. Zoho Social creates and assigns custom roles and permissions for team members inside a Brand, on its Premium plan at $65 per month.

What Happens When a Client Does Not Approve a RecurPost Post in Time?

RecurPost’s Client Review stage carries a timeout of 4, 8, 24, 48, or 72 hours, or 7 days. The account owner picks what RecurPost does when that timeout runs out: hold the post, approve it automatically, escalate it, or reschedule it. RecurPost’s default Client Review stage waits 72 hours and then moves the post one day later. RecurPost warns the assigned role at 50 percent and 80 percent of the timeout and again when the stage is overdue.

Which Tools Like Zoho Social Let Clients Approve Posts Without Logging In?

RecurPost clients approve a post or request changes on the shareable calendar without logging in, on the Agency plan at $79 per month. Vista Social’s clients can also approve without logging in, on its $79 plan for 15 accounts. Planable is built for client and stakeholder review, and HeyOrca gives each client a native review seat in their own workspace. Zoho Social routes client sign-off differently: client invites and free client logins arrive with the Agency plan at $320 per month. A RecurPost client who stays quiet past the 72-hour Client Review window has the post rescheduled by a day rather than published unapproved.

Is There a Free Zoho Social Alternative?

Buffer’s free plan covers 3 channels with 10 scheduled posts per channel. Metricool’s free plan manages 1 brand with up to 20 posts per month, without X or LinkedIn publishing. HeyOrca offers a free single-workspace tier. RecurPost runs no free plan and offers a 14-day trial with no credit card instead. Zoho Social also keeps a free plan with 1 brand across 6 channels and 1 user, so a free tier alone is a weak reason to switch.

Do Any Zoho Social Alternatives Manage WhatsApp?

None of RecurPost, Buffer, Metricool, Planable, or Sendible manages a WhatsApp inbox. Zoho Social includes WhatsApp Business and Telegram in its inbox from the Premium plan up, and that coverage is a genuine reason to stay. A WhatsApp-dependent team should treat this page’s picks as schedulers rather than replacements.

What Does Switching From Zoho Social Cost at a 10-Client Roster?

Zoho Social’s Agency plan covers 10 brands at $320 per month. RecurPost prices a comparable 40-account, 5-seat roster at $199 per month. Metricool covers 10 brands for $45 on its Starter tier if approvals and X publishing can wait for add-ons. The Zoho number buys a client portal and agency-branded reports the cheaper picks lack.

Try RecurPost

RecurPost Fits Rosters That Broke Zoho Social’s Brand Pricing

RecurPost’s Agency plan covers 20 social accounts for $79 per month with a separate workspace per client and no brand tax on a second account on the same platform.

  • 20 social accounts on the Agency plan at $79/mo flat
  • 3 team members included; extra members $20/mo, extra accounts $4/mo
  • Internal and external approval workflow, client workspaces, and white-label reports on the Agency plan at $79/mo
  • Team roles, permissions, and the Kanban board on every plan, from $9/mo
  • Password-free client onboarding on the Agency plan at $79/mo, where Zoho Social starts client logins at $320/mo
  • 14-day free trial, no credit card required, 30-day money-back guarantee

RecurPost does not include social listening, WhatsApp or Telegram, a branded client portal on your own domain, or Zoho CRM integration. If your team lives in the Zoho suite or on WhatsApp, stay on Zoho Social.

See the RecurPost social media scheduler for the full product.